top of page

1st Day Back in LA


1

I am sitting here with Cameron, my first student in 2013. She, a pretty brown-eyed blonde with hair halfway down her back, has been my writing student since she was in elementary school (she is now a sophomore in high school). We are both feeling sluggish after a long winter break and are using 15 minutes to get our minds focused back on writing.

For my part, I am recovering from 2 solid weeks in Texas where we worked our little (or rather large) tushies to the bone, first preparing and hosting an open house, then preparing for the arrival of not one tenant, but two. So every day we were up before 7, planning for what work needed to be accomplished that day and then proceeding to communicate that work to our two faithful master craftsmen. From there, we all worked with systematic intent until the end of the day when we surveyed what had (and had not) been accomplished before setting our goals for the next day. I can’t remember a time we have been more efficient and productive and for my part, I enjoyed every minute of it. Ray and I have been trying to figure out how to make keeping our Texas house make sense, particularly in this sluggish economy, so our two new tenants help us to see that we are moving forward despite some serious financial setbacks. What a great feeling.

Now we are back in California and here I am back at work, though work-lite since Cameron is my only student today. However, tomorrow, I will begin seeing other students and the week will progress back into a regular routine. But only for a few days since we have a big event coming up next week: our trip to Ensenada to celebrate one of those BIG birthdays for me, and also (and no less important) to finally meet Gregorio’s family, who are Sarah’s new in-laws and important people for our expected little grand baby, Luna Isabella. So, I am excited about meeting the other grandparents and Luna’s great-grandmother, along with various aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews and cousins.


national-parks-in-Ensenada

But now I am back to sitting here in my living room with Cameron in a chilly house which is not designed for cold 50 degree weather with a wind chill factor that makes it feel as if it’s in the lower 40’s. Even with the fire-place burning, I am still chilly, and that’s with my wearing jeans and a relatively heavy sweater. Alas, we are thin-blooded here is So Cal, even if we’ve transplants from states where winters are much colder. Having 70 degree weather every day all year round has a way of making you shiver when it’s 65.

Ray got up and bravely went off to the homeless breakfast this morning to volunteer. For my part, I must confess that I hunkered down in the warm covers and kept on sleeping. The difference was that Ray knew he needed to deal with some security issues that had occurred since we’ve been gone while I knew that there would be people there to make the food that I normally make: pancakes or bread pudding. Plus, I did the majority of the driving back from Texas while Ray rested, and I couldn’t go to sleep this morning until almost 3 am because of the coffee I drank to keep me awake on the road. After almost 10 years of feeding the homeless every other Saturday, I figured one Saturday off wouldn’t hurt. Ray, being the selfless creature that he is, decided his duty was clear and he hopped up 15 minutes before the alarm went off at 5:45. He is a good man and that is why I, and so many others, love him. Amen to that. Yes, a solid amen.

On that note, I will close. My feet are cold despite my socks and shoes and I believe it’s time to poke the fire and try to make it rally.

How is the weather in your part of the country and how are you spending your Saturday? I would love to hear.

Skyline-Los-Angeles-Night-1024x682
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page