top of page

20 Minutes of Flash a Day

I’ve decided that I’m going to devote this blog to flash fiction and memoir, two of my favorite types of writing. The goal will be for me to write 20 minutes a day in either fiction or memoir and post it on here. As a writing teacher I have seen how consistent timed writing can hone writing skills in a fairly short time. I will use whatever prompts I find: an object in the room, a line from a song, a piece of conversation I’ve overheard, a color, picture, or sound. The goal is to write for 20 minutes using that prompt and, after a quick read-through to correct any glaring mistakes, I will post. I know from my experience with timed writing that over a few weeks, I’ll have several pieces that will be worthy of fleshing out to create more fully rounded stories. Still, my goal will be to keep them to no longer than 1000-1200 words, the limit for flash fiction and memoir. I will post those stories once they are done, as well. Beginning today, this site will serve as the outward and visible sign of a timed writing discipline. So with my timer in front of me, let’s get going.

0 views0 comments

Коментари


bottom of page