top of page

5-Star Honey-Sweetened Carrot Cake With Honey-Sweetened Cream Cheese Frosting

At the request of my soon-to-be son-in-law, Ron Betty, I am posting an excellent recipe for honey-sweetened carrot cake with honey-sweetened cream cheese frosting. I altered this recipe from one I found online and had great results.

I made this cake yesterday and it was moist and delicious. I had a second slice today and it was even better. This is not a tough cake to make. I threw a few carrots in the food processor and they were ready in seconds. I used currents rather than raisins simply because that is what I had on hand and they were quite tasty. Either would be fine and you could also toss in about 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts if you wanted to add even more nutrition and flavor. I used a bundt pan because I just happen to like how the cake looks but you can use either a regular cake pan or a square baking dish, if you are inclined. Whatever the case, I was exceptionally pleased with the texture and flavor of this cake so I can highly recommend this recipe.

Happy baking!

CAKE INGREDIENTS:

1⁄2 cup honey

1⁄2 cupvegetable oil

2 large eggs

1 cup sifted unbleached flour

1 tsp salt

1 tspbaking soda

1 1⁄2 tsp ground cinnamon

1⁄4 tsp ground cloves

1 cup carrots, grated

3⁄4 cup currants or raisins

Icing Ingredients:

1⁄3 cup butter

1⁄2 cup honey

8 oz cream cheese

1⁄2 tsp vanilla

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium bowl, beat the honey and oil with a wire whisk or electric mixer until smooth and creamy. Add eggs one at a time and mix until well blended.

In a separate, medium-size bowl, mix flour with salt, baking soda and spices. Add flour mixture to creamed mixture and stir until all of the flour is evenly moistened. Fold in carrots and walnuts.

Put batter into prepared 9-inch round cake pan. Bake for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit until the cake shrinks from the sides of the pan and toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Cool 10 minutes in pan and reverse onto a cake rack.

Meanwhile, to prepare cream cheese icing, cream butter and honey until smooth with a wire whisk or electric mixer. Add cream cheese and vanilla and mix until smooth.

When cake has cooled, frost with cream cheese icing.


1 view0 comments

コメント


bottom of page