top of page

A Baby On the Way

Yesterday, I got to see a picture of my first grandchild in utero. It was amazing the clarity of the picture. I could actually see the little tyke’s profile: his/her nose, mouth and chin. My daughter is four and a half months pregnant and we can already see our unborn baby’s facial features. This is unbelievable. I have not yet translated my daughter’s little baby bump to the existence of a real human being, warm and soft, ready to be cuddled. Of course, I am quickly shifting in that regard, beginning to eye babies in the grocery store and in strollers as parents and nannies pass me on the street. To say I am excited at the prospect of a new baby in the family does not begin to cover my growing awareness that I get to nurture a little child again. I adored raising my children. I loved watching them in their funny baby and little kid stages and then their bigger kid stages. The saying that kids keep you young is absolutely true. They bring new life into the picture – their lives.

So, I have a brand new little person to start thinking about and anticipate his/her arrival on or around April 5th. I am so excited. We don’t yet know the sex of this baby because the little one was modest yesterday during the ultra sound. Hopefully, by next month we will know if this is a little boy or girl. I have no preference – just healthy – but I don’t mind knowing the sex. That way I can start imagining whether we’re buying little dresses or little tee-shirts and pants. The very idea makes me smile.

Many of my friends assure me that there is nothing better than being a grandparent. I am looking forward to finding that out for myself.

1 view0 comments

Komentáře


bottom of page