top of page

A Busy Day and a Good Movie

I have had a long day. We had the Breakfast Club this morning, then we attended a requiem mass for our friend, Barry Norcross, who died in January.  After that, I had four hours of students and editing before we headed over to the Arc Light in Hollywood for dinner and a movie. Any one of these events would augment an ordinary day, but putting them altogether made this somewhat of a mega-day.

Tomorrow, we have day two of the mega-day series. We’re getting up early to head to the Rose Bowl flea market, then going to church for the baptism of a family friend’s child, then off to lunch and then on to the Los Angeles Museum of Art as an early celebration of Rachael’s birthday.

The movie we saw tonight was the new film out with Ryan Gosling and Bradley Cooper, The Place Beyond the Pines. I would highly recommend this movie, which, though imperfect in some of its characterization, is a very fine film about missed opportunities, bad choices and lost people. I found the storyline compelling and the acting convincing. Two of the younger actors promise to have long and strong acting careers. That is interesting in itself. So, if you’re looking for a good movie, then this one is well worth seeing.

On that note, I’m off to bed. We are due to get up at 5:30 for a 6 am trip to the Rose Bowl flea market. I know I’ll have fun once I’m there. Getting me up and there is something else altogether.

Good night, folks. I hope you had a fun Saturday.

movies_place-beyond-the-pines
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page