top of page

A Calm Day

Hi friends,

I have about 15 minutes before my next student so I thought I’d jump in and write my blog post for today. What to say?  Rachael’s little dog Hazel is asleep on the couch. The other dogs are upstairs with Ray. I am listening to the Brandenburg Concerto No. 6 in B flat Major played by the Berlin Chamber Orchestra. The ceiling fan is whirring and I have a lap blanket next to me just in case I get a bit too chilly. I have a cup of honey ginger tea next to me and I’m sitting in a 1940s armchair that I bought from an old friend from my church, Barbara Dove, before she left this earthly plane. We reupholstered Barbara’s chair to match a straight back chair that’s also in this room and both, along with the brown leather couch, give this den a cozy feel.

I have had a good day. I have seen several students, have worked on bills, and have taken care of a number of small, but pressing tasks. Ray and I had a good (and needed) conversation about life and friendship and we shared a lunch of homemade potato soup, broccoli and salad and then had a little bit of fruit-juice sweetened chocolate ice cream. I feel calm and peaceful, which is how I always strive to feel but don’t always manage to make that happen. But today I did, and that is good.

I hope you have had a good day as well.

I’ll be checking back in with you again tomorrow.

38210823016_0228e8cbb0_b.jpg
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page