top of page

A Chance to Help with Luna’s Birth

I am pleased to say that I am going to get the chance to be a birth coach for my daughter, Sarah, along with Gregorio. That means I get to stay in the room when she is delivering our new little Luna, rather than being asked to step outside with the rest of the family. I feel honored to be in this position and am excited about helping with Sarah’s labor and delivery. I had a similar honor with my beloved sister-in-law, Sandra Leatherwood. I was the birth coach for Leslie, Katie and Mahlon, and got to see each of these dear nieces born. I am bonded to them for this reason – I saw their first moments of life – and hope to establish that same bond with sweet Luna.

Sarah has loaned me one book entitled The Birth Partner: A Complete Guide to Childbirth for Dads, Doulas, and All Other Labor Companions by Penny Simkin. I plan to read this, plus head to the library for two more books on the subject, which should get me back up to speed on labor and delivery. After all, it has been almost 22 years since I had my last baby at home with a midwife, and a little longer for my youngest niece’s birth. However, everything I am reading so far emphasizes that birth is the ultimate “organic process,” and as such, I’m not expecting a lot of differences even with a few years in-between.

Luna’s due date is April 5th, but there is some discussion about an earlier delivery depending on how Sarah is faring. We’ll know more in the next few days, but the goal, at the very least, is to keep our little girl safely in her mama’s womb for at least 2 more weeks. If that can’t happen, then that’s okay; but if it can happen, it will be even better. So, I have to hurry and read those books. I want to be as prepared as possible so that I can be helpful. I am certain Sarah and Gregorio will appreciate that, as well.


preggers-belly
2 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page