top of page

A Change in the Weather and A Junk Trip

Today the weather has turned cold. I am literally sitting here in a long-sleeved shirt, a sweater, and 2 thins jackets. It’s not that the house is cold; we’ve just returned from the McKinney Restore and it is cold in that big warehouse despite big hanging heaters. So, I’ve just decided to get really hot before taking off these layers.

The Restore is the Habitat for Humanity retail outlet for all the donations that they can’t use. Today is was only okay, but some days it’s a little bonanza. Of course, this all depends on what you need. Since we’re constantly renovating old places, we’re always pleased to find sinks, bathtubs, lighting, and cabinets that were either torn out of existing homes or donated from a builder/store because they weren’t right for the house or they are old stock. This kind of store makes my heart skip a beat. I love the hunt for a bargain, no matter what, and there are bargains to be found at Restore. Not everything is discounted to a price that puts a bounce in my step, but there’s always that possibility of finding that “perfect” buy. Today we bought several very cool mirrors and a good quality dorm refrigerator. As a result, we’ve decided to add a little popcorn kitchen, where we can put the little fridge when we finally finish our master bath/laundry room upstairs in the Victorian. So, sometimes you find inspiration, as well.

Tomorrow before dawn, I head to Dallas to catch a plane. I have students all afternoon upon my return. It’s okay, though, because today was much more restful than I expected. We slept late, ate lunch with friends, went to Restore, and are having dinner with friends. Not too taxing, at all!

Next time I write, I expect to be back in Los Angeles, where it surely is a little warmer. That is – as we say in Texas – if the good Lord’s willing and the creek don’t rise.

Until then, happy Wednesday. How are you faring these days? Please share in the Comments section. I’d love to hear.

ReStore-Interior
0 views0 comments

留言


bottom of page