top of page

A Cold Night + A Honey-Sweetened Cranberry Sauce Recipe


I am sitting in front of my fireplace with the fire blazing. It is cold for LA – 51 degrees with a light wind. Only chilly for other parts of the country, but for Southern California, it’s down right frigid, especially knowing it is getting down to 44 tonight.

I am sitting two feet from the hearth in my rocking chair and am currently wearing my coat. A light jacket, I must admit, but I also have the heat on in the house! One problem is that it is usually so mild here, we keep the back door cracked open so the dogs can come and go as they please. That open door is requiring me to hover near the fire in order to be really warm.

I have made a few more purchases today of gifts for my family. Books mainly because I am a lover of books. Tomorrow night we gather for the official family Christmas. I still have gift-wrapping to do as well as some cooking, but I am in the homeward stretch so I’m feeling happy about that. Today I had students from 11 am to 6:15 pm. I hadn’t expected so many so close to the holidays, but everyone has last minutes essays to write.

Tonight, I am looking forward to doing not much else. It’s not late – 8:07 – but I think I’d rather go to bed early and get up early to finish what needs to be done and not stay up late and get up late. I am an early bird as a rule; I do my best work at the break of dawn. I will start my day tomorrow with cooking.  That is always fun, so I’m looking forward to that.

And you? What is your favorite food you’re cooking for the holidays? I must say, I look forward to making homemade cranberry sauce. It’s easy, delicious and is a great accompaniment to almost any food. The recipe? Just put equal proportions of cranberries and apples in a pan with a pinch of salt, a fourth of a cup of water, and honey to sweeten. Cook down until smooth, then add more honey to achieve just the right sweetness. That’s it and you’ll have a delectable taste treat that your family and friends will rave about and you’ll find yourself sneaking into the fridge to get just one more spoonful.

c0ba66c5a6c8dcd207e22d380779effc

On that note, I’ll say good-night so I can head upstairs. I have a bath and bed awaiting.  Sleep well, my friends, and happy cooking, as well.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page