top of page

A Cold Winter’s Night and an Old Fashioned Heater

I am sitting in our quiet house here in Texas. Our Scottie, Sammie, is lying in the chair opposite me and Ray is in the kitchen. Cordelia is somewhere in the house, probably curled up on the floor near Ray. It is 10:30 at night on a cold January night. The temperature outside is 36 degrees going down to 31 before the night is over. The real cold is yet to come. The weatherman reported that Wednesday night it will hit 12 degrees.

I am sitting next to a space heater in our staircase room. I can hear the hum of the gas and see its orange and blue flame. There is nothing quite as cozy as a gas heater on a cold night. Reminds me of growing up at 602 East 9th Street in Bonham, Texas, where every room was outfitted with gas heaters. That orange and blue flame was as much a part of winter as cold winds coming from the north.

People talk about the dangers of an open flame heater, but I have lived with them all of my life and have never had a bad incident. Of course, you don’t want to wear loose clothing when cozying up to one; that could have negative consequences. On the other hand, when you are really cold and need to get warmed up good and fast, there is nothing quite as effective as a gas heater. It will drive the chill away in short order. You can also curl up in front of it. That is a meditation all on its own.

Ray is now in the bathtub and Cordie has just wandered into the room. Sammie is still curled up in the chair opposite to me. My eyelids are starting to droop; so I know it’s time to get ready for bed.

May your sleep be peaceful and your bed warm. I will see you again tomorrow. But right now, I’m going to lie in front of the gas heater for just a little while and enjoy that orange glow.


3268175886_dc6759f12e
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page