top of page

A Delectable (and healthy) Oatmeal Raisin Cookie

I’ve made these cookies twice and they are exceptionally delicious. The recipe is adapted from the one that comes on the back of the Sun-Maid Raisin package. I will put the original recipe and then add my changes, which omits white and brown sugar and uses maple sugar and honey instead. One of my students – a regular sugar eater – tasted these cookies the other day and suggested that I start selling them commercially. They are exceptionally good – at least the version I make.

Here’s the recipe:

3/4 cup butter or margarine, softened (I used 1/2 cup butter) 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar (I used 3/4 cup honey) 1/2 cup white granulated sugar (I used 3/4 cup maple sugar) 1 egg I teaspoon vanilla 1 cup all-purpose flour (I used unbleached white whole wheat flour) I teaspoon ground cinnamon 1/2 teaspoon baking soda 1/4 teaspoon salt 3 cups rolled oats, uncooked (I used steel-cut whole grain oats: Coach’s Oats from Costco) 1 cup Sun-Maid Raisins*

How to make it:

Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease cookie sheets. Combine butter, white sugar (or honey), brown sugar (or maple sugar), egg and vanilla; beat until well blended; set aside.

Combine flour, cinnamon, baking soda and salt. Add to butter mixture; mix well. Stir in oats and raisins. Drop by tablespoonfuls on greased cookie sheets.

Bake in upper third of oven at 350 degrees F for 12 minutes. Remove from cookie sheets; cool on wire racks.

*(Note: This recipe calls for Sun-Maid Baking Raisins. If your raisins aren’t soft, you can plump them for a few minutes in warm water and drain well before using in the recipe.)

Try these and let me know what you think. I have to ration myself on my intake, they are so good.

Happy eating.

153085
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page