top of page

A Different Kind of Easter This Year

Today was the first day in almost 32 years that I haven’t spent Easter with at least one of my children. That’s a biggie for me, but it’s okay. Everyone is well and I am the one out of pocket, not them. We are in Texas working on the completion of our house project across the street from our Victorian (the Dimmit house) and it made more sense to stay here and finish up details than to leave and travel cross-country back to CA in time for Easter Day. Plus, Friday was Rachael’s birthday and although I didn’t actually see her that day due to her work, I think the idea of having us 30 miles away versus 1500 was some comfort for her. We will leave on Tuesday to head back to CA, and hopefully all of this extra time will mean the difference in our getting the Dimmit house on the market versus having it sit for more time. So, Easter away from our children seems okay, just this once.

Instead of attending church at our beloved St. Thomas the Apostle, Hollywood, we instead went to St. Stephen’s Episcopal church here in Sherman. We saw old friends there and enjoyed the company of two new friends here, Carol and David Griffith, who are fellow Episcopalians. They invited us to lunch at their home after church and coffee hour and that was another first for me in a very long time: someone else made and served Easter dinner. Wow. What a concept. When we arrived back to our home here, we had yet another visitor, Marshall Reid, who stayed and visited for several hours. That was also quite a treat.

I have to say that I while I would have loved being in LA for Holy Week and Easter Sunday, I experienced something new being here instead. I saw that life can shift and can also be good. We had a lovely time today, surrounded by old and new friends. We also had a chance to see Easter celebrated here at St. Stephen’s, which was not that different than St. Thomas, just on a smaller scale.

I only wish I had gotten to see granddaughter Luna experience her first Easter egg hunt. That would have been a lot of fun. Alas, I may have to arrange a belated hunt upon our return later this week…

Rachael is coming tomorrow for a visit before we head back to CA. I will look forward to seeing her pretty face then. Today, she had to work for much of the day. So, Easter was not as leisurely as she (or we) would have liked for her.

On that note, I will close. Happy Easter, family and friends. Please know that you are in my heart today. Here’s wishing this time of new hope and promise will fill us all with joy-filled love and life.


kakashi1930_happy-easter

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page