top of page

A Favorite Instant Pot Recipe: Turkey Vegetable Soup

I will be the first to say that the Instant Pot has been one of my favorite additions to my kitchen and I use it almost every day. (Thank you, niece Nicki Leatherwood-Schooler for introducing me to this time and energy saving appliance.) I’ve had mine for over a year now and make all sorts of soups in it as well as chicken dishes (I don’t eat beef or pork). I haven’t tried making a sweet in mine or yogurt, but I understand there are all sorts of dessert recipes to explore and that the yogurt made in the Instant Pot is excellent. But onward to one of my favorite recipes.

My go-to recipe that makes me happy and takes care of many of my comfort needs is one for Turkey Vegetable Soup. The broth is rich and, because the Instant Pot is a pressure cooker, the vegetables are exactly the right consistency, plump and juicy. This recipe can be served alone or, if you have the time, with homemade cornbread. You can add whatever vegetables suit you on any given day (or what is in season) and you will consistently have a soup that you could confidently serve to company if they happen to show up. More importantly, you’ll have a bowl of soup that you’ll find completely satisfying and which is also low in fat and calories while being high in nutrition. It’s hard to beat that. So, here is my recipe. Let me know if you try it. I’d love to hear.

Turkey Vegetable Soup

INGREDIENTS

1 tablespoon olive oil 1 lb ground turkey large onion, chopped 3 cloves garlic, minced 4 medium potatoes, chunked                                                                    1 sweet potato, cubed                                                                                                                  Package fresh or frozen green beans 3 medium carrots, sliced 2 stalks celery, sliced 1 teaspoon paprika 1 teaspoon chili powder 1/2 teaspoon dried basil salt and pepper to taste 14.5 oz can fire roasted tomatoes 4 cups chicken broth INSTRUCTIONS

Turn your Instant Pot to the saute function and add the olive oil. Once it’s heated up, add the ground turkey and cook, breaking apart as necessary until it’s no longer pink; about 3 minutes. Then add the onion, garlic, potatoes, green beans, carrots, celery, paprika, chili powder, oregano, salt and pepper to taste. Continue cooking for another minute or so until the spices are fragrant and the vegetables begin to cook. Cancel the saute function; add the tomatoes and broth. Give it a quick stir, cover and turn the vent to seal.

Cook on high pressure for 4 minutes. Once finished, quick release the pressure and remove the lid. Season with salt and pepper as needed, ladle into bowls, garnish with fresh Parmesan cheese, and serve.

0 views0 comments

Komentáře


bottom of page