top of page

A Guilty Pleasure

I have a confession to make – I love celebrity news. Yes, I must admit that one of my guilty pleasures is perusing the “Entertainment” section of AOL and looking at photos of Jennifer Garner and her two kids going to breakfast in Brentwood with her mother-in-law. Ye gods, I believe I am why the paparazzi exists, to satisfy this ridiculous curiosity about the rich and famous. Tonight, I did see that picture of Jennifer, but what motivated my click over to the “news” in the entertainment section of AOL was the teaser, “Rapper’s Autopsy Report Finally Released.” Now why I felt a need to get the gory details of Biggy Small’s death is beyond me. I can’t even explain it to myself, but there I was clicking and then reading away, to learn that Biggy took four bullets in a drive-by shooting, but only one that hit his hip proved fatal when it tore into his internal organs. Yikes. Did I need to know that? Not really, but then again, I did navigate to that article. I guess there was some part of me wanting clarity on what exactly did Biggie in.

My kids always marvel at my latest information on celebrities. “Oh no, Angelina Jolie surely wouldn’t have committed to a long-term contract for a movie. After all, she said she would retire when the kids are teenagers and Maddox is already 11.” Oh dear God, I can’t believe I’m admitting that I read this stuff. Not exactly high-brow. But the truth is that at least some of the celebrity news is entertaining to me. For example, I have a perverse need to see who Justin Bieber is now dating primarily because he strikes me as too baby-faced to be going out with girls. I can also admit to more than a passing interest in Brad Pitt, Ryan Gosling, and Russell Crowe. Okay, I am aging, but I’m not dead yet. On a more positive note, I never follow the Kardashians or any body who I think looks just plain dumb. I also particularly like those photos of stars then and now. Maybe that’s just my need to feel better about myself since 97% of the time the “stars” have fallen and are not looking all that good.

I don’t watch much television. I am fond of Project Runway and Modern Family, but I will not devote too much time to watching much else unless someone else in the family is watching it. I like CBS Sunday Morning and I watch Chris Matthew’s Hardball and sometimes the PBS News Hour, but not tons else. It seems that since we got Direct TV with so many channel choices, I’ve been more inclined to avoid sitting in front of the tube. I heard a statistic on Ted radio that the Internet offers too much choice and this becomes less pleasurable for the people watching. I am one of those people since I recall being happier with television when I had three channels to pick from.

On that note, I will head off to bed. I’ve had another long day with a student and I am beat. Tomorrow we are up early to go work at the homeless breakfast, then after that I have students for most of the afternoon. As for now, I look forward to lying my head down on my pillow. Ah, those simple pleasures. Aren’t they grand?

jennifer-garner-ben-affleck-family-dinner-in-brentwood
0 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page