top of page

A Happy Visit

My nephew, Jim, is here with his two friends, John and Murray. They have just ridden their bikes from San Francisco to LA on Highway One. They arrived at mid-day looking tired, slightly sunburned, but happy. They said they had a wonderful trip, camping on some nights and staying in motels on others. They stopped at Hearst’s Castle on the central coast and took a tour. They started a week ago Monday so they’ve been on the road for ten days.

I expected they would arrive, eat and fall straight into bed, but they have been pretty lively all day. I prepared homemade enchiladas and rice for their arrival plus a peach cobbler from peaches from our tree out back. They looked extremely appreciative and ate every bite of everything. Over the afternoon, each headed off to shower and rest for a bit. This evening, we walked up to Sunset Boulevard and ate at Mel’s Diner, a LA icon, which also happens to have good food.

It is always a treat to have Jim visit. He lives in Salt Lake City so we don’t get to see him that often. So, to have him here 10 days ago for Liz’s graduation and again today is a double treat. He will return next month for Rachael’s graduation with his wife and two kids. That is a rare event – three visits in a little over one month. I could get used to this!

John and Murray, Jim’s traveling companions, are also extremely nice. They also live in Salt Lake City so all three will be heading off for an early flight at 6 am. Ray and I will get up and take them to the airport.

Jim is fifteen years younger than I am and, of course, I have known him all of his life. He is my sister Leslie’s younger child and he and my husband, Ray, became friends the minute they laid eyes on each other way back when we got married and Jim was 13-years-old. So, this is one of those special relationships in our lives. Ray and I love Jim very much.

I am happy to have my nephew here; I’m glad to have him arrive safely from his bike trip. I will look forward to his return in three weeks with his wife and kids, three more people we adore. Love is a wonderful thing.


highway1
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page