top of page

A Letter to Luna about Her Mom

Dear Luna,

I want to tell you a few things about your mom. Tomorrow is her 31st birthday and you will be exactly 5 weeks and 6 days old. I think there are a few things you should know about this person who pushed you into this world on April 4, 2013 at 10:04 pm.

First thing to know about your mom is that she wanted you more than anything. She even decided to delay graduating from medical school and starting her residency so that she could have more time with you. She talked to lots of medical residents and doctors before making that decision. They all said, “Have your baby now. There is no good time to take a leave of absence in our profession.” So that is what she and your daddy did – they decided to have you because they were ready to begin their family; they were ready for you to be in their lives.

Second thing about your mom is that she is stubborn. When she decides she wants to do something, she just settles in and won’t budge. That’s how she was about your daddy. She met him a month before she left for medical school and from that moment on, there was no doubt in her mind that they would be together. Even when it was hard for them with her in Texas and him in California, she never even thought of giving up on their relationship. And neither did your daddy, by the way. They just keep moving forward, every day, even from 1500 miles away. And then, your daddy came to Texas for a while, and then your mom figured out how to be in CA as much as possible. Now you three are all together in California. How great is that?

A third aspect of your mother that you ought to know, she likes to plan things out. She does not like switching stuff up. A few Thanksgiving ago, I suggested that instead of having our regular dinner at my house, maybe we could all go up to Ojai to the orange grove instead. I have never seen a meaner look. “Mom,” she said, “I’ve been looking forward to our traditional Thanksgiving for three months already.” So, I’m giving you a heads-up. If you want to do things a little differently, then you’ll need to prepare her for those changes a little while in advance. She can shift, but just not too fast.

A fourth part of you mom is that she loves her sisters. Don’t ever think she doesn’t. Auntie Liz and Auntie Rachael are two of her favorite people in this world and she would fight anybody who ever dared to challenge that. She is also slightly partial to me…if I say so myself. I can tell by the way she calls me “Mama.” She also loves Grandpa. They seem to see the world a lot the same way. They also like teasing me. This appears to give them great pleasure. Don’t worry, though. I don’t mind. I know that they love me.

Another part of your mom that is important – she will go the distance with you and your daddy, no matter what happens. She is just one of those people, not flighty, not impulsive. She was a long distance swimmer when she was young and she approaches life with that same attitude. Jump in and swim, swim, swim. That is what has given her the strength to make it through medical school. That is what keeps her moving everyday to make life better for you, your daddy and the other people that she loves. This is, by the way, one of my favorite parts of your mom, that she doesn’t allow emotion to rule her. She just keeps on plugging away and getting what she wants, no matter how hard it is to achieve. She understands that you can only swim long distances one stroke at a time, and sometimes you can’t tell how far you’ve come until you’ve gotten to the other side of where you’re going. These are good things to know in life.

A final thing about your mom – not that this is all, but I know you’re little and I don’t want to wear you out with details – is that she likes to laugh. She sees the funny side of most situations and doesn’t mind being silly. She even slaps her knee when she finds something especially funny, which you might think is a little goofy when you’re a little older. But I think you’ll agree that it’s better to have a mom who smiles a lot rather than one who frowns. She especially thinks your daddy is silly from time to time, but that’s because he makes her laugh. Grandpa can make her laugh, too. He is good at making most people laugh. You probably have already discovered that if you are old enough to read this letter.

You should also know that I describe my feelings for your mother the same way that my own mother – your great-grandmother – described her feelings for me: “I would love her even if she weren’t my daughter.” Of course, your mom can already say this about you (along with Grandpa, Auntie Liz, Auntie Rachael, your daddy, and me, as well as all the rest of your very large family on both your mama and daddy’s sides). Love just brings more love. It’s a wonderful thing.

So, if your mama ever gets a little sad, I’ll tell you exactly what to do. Climb up in her lap, put your arms around her neck, and say, “Grandma told me to tell you that you are one of the kindest, most decent humans on this earth and we are all better off because you are among us.” Then give her a big hug and tell her you love her. I promise that will make her happiest of all.

Much love to you, sweet girl.

Grandma


544462_10152676801460184_1783941862_n
1 view0 comments

コメント


bottom of page