top of page

A Memory of 9/11

Fourteen years ago on 9/11:

1) Ray and I didn’t allow our kids to go to school out of fear that there might be a Los Angeles attack. 2) Our whole family sat in bed and watched the news coverage that morning. 3) We were all stunned and horrified. 4) I kept expecting attacks in other cities across the U.S. 5) I knew life had shifted and changed for all of us in the U.S.                                                                         6) I was deeply touched by the bravery of so many Americans that day.                                                         7) I feel deeply saddened that so many were in such abject pain over the loss of loved ones.                           8) We couldn’t stop watching the news coverage.                                                                                             9) I wondered what the long-term ramifications of these actions would be.                                                    10) I felt doubtful that we would ever track down the perpetrators.

A significant moment in U.S. history seared in our national consciousness.

May the souls of the departed rest in peace.


Kent Kobersteen, former Director of Photography of National Geographic

Kent Kobersteen, former Director of Photography of National Geographic


“The pictures are by Robert Clark, and were shot from the window of his studio in Brooklyn. Others shot the second plane hitting the tower, but I think there are elements in Clark’s photographs that make them special. To me the wider shots not only give context to the tragedy, but also portray the normalcy of the day in every respect except at the Towers. I generally prefer tighter shots, but in this case I think the overall context of Manhattan makes a stronger image. And, the fact that Clark shot the pictures from his studio indicates how the events of 9/11 literally hit home. I find these images very compellingÑin fact, whenever I see them they force me to study them in great detail.”

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page