top of page

A Mother’s Dream: Time with Her Grown-up Daughters


Liz, Sarah, and Rachael

I am having an occasion that is happy for a mother – I am seeing my three daughters almost daily at least for the next little while. Sarah has a clinical rotation that is only four blocks away at an Urgent Care Center; Liz is here everyday from 6:30 – 8 when we have breakfast together before she heads off to law school, and Rachael has asked my help with her three UCLA literature classes that have lots of demanding papers attached. Could I be happier? Absolutely not.

Sweet Sarah is getting rounder now that she is four months pregnant. Her upset stomach has calmed down and her morning sickness may have passed. Fingers crossed. Having her near after three years away in Texas in medical school is one of those particular joys that is almost inexpressible. Seeing my oldest girl twice a day – before she heads to work and when she’s done – is about as close to heaven as I can get. I have to admit I’d be completely happy if my kids all lived within a block of me so I could see them all the time. That would suit me just fine. Alas, she shifts to another clinical rotation at the end of the month and I will only see her every week or so. She and Gregorio live out in Arcadia – at least an hour away with no traffic – and so soon we’ll have to make plans for lunches or dinners. Ah, but right now, I get to see her a lot. This makes me happy. And she is so happy – she and Gregorio – as they look forward to their baby.

Liz is in the throes of accelerated law school (2 years instead of 3) and so her life is ruled by tests and classes and more tests. Luckily, her boyfriend is in her program and they study together; otherwise, they would never see each other. They live at the library but I do get that precious time every morning. She (and her boyfriend) graduate in May and then take the bar in July. So, I know that this will be the last year I will see my daughter daily for breakfast. Again, I am savoring what I have with this girl. It won’t be long until she’s off with her career and a life that requires a scheduled time for mom and dad.

Rachael will also graduate this spring – in June – and hopes to start graduate school for a Masters of Social Work in the fall. She will be near LA, she expects, but off and busy with school and an internship that is part of the curriculum no matter which program she goes to. Right now, however, she is coming over for help with three tough American literature courses she’s taking. I love learning what she’s learning – we share a love for beautiful writing – so we are both having fun problem solving, and figuring out what’s important in her readings. She will be off and even busier soon, too; so here I am relishing my time with her, as well.

Parents know all too well how they shift from primary to secondary once “Life” enters the picture for their children. Soon there are boyfriends who transition into mates and then come their own children. All while daughters and son-in-laws are managing their careers. Mama and Daddy are still around, but in a different capacity, which, I hope, involves helping with the grandchildren. I guess we’ll see on that one.

But, as of now, I am happy. I will enjoy every minute I have with my girls since I am aware that these moments will become more and more rare. I will appreciate their smiles and their jokes and their solid take on life and feel grateful to have them near. My children are by far the greatest gifts of my life. When they are around, it feels as if Santa Claus has just left three big beautiful packages underneath the tree, all with my name on them. Ah, bliss.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page