top of page

A New Food Diary App: “See How You Eat”

Liz, Rachael and I are trying out a free app called “See How You Eat.”  Basically, all you do is take a photo of whatever you eat during the day and share it with your designated person or persons.  The app can be downloaded onto your phone and it breaks up the day into breakfast, lunch, dinner and three snacks.  At the end of the day, I upload the photos of my day’s food onto the app and then text it to Liz and Rachael. They do the same to me.

Does it work for weight loss?  I’m not sure about that.  I have not weighed in over a week so I can’t say.  However, what I do know is that I am much more aware of what I’m eating.  I can’t just toss things into my mouth with zero thought.  After all, I have to take a photo of it before I eat it.  Sometimes I forget to take a photo. There is a note component to the app so you can write in whatever you ate versus taking the photo.  I have to do that occasionally.

The jury is still out on this but I find myself getting into the habit of pulling out my phone and taking a photo of my food. This does make me a good deal more conscious of the quality and quantity of my food. That surely is not a bad thing.

As for sharing, the three of us do this without comment on what the others are eating. After all, the point is to raise awareness, not to be food police.  So far, so good.  No food shaming going on.  Just a way to be a bit more accountable.

I will report back after a few weeks to let you know about any weight loss.  I do feel as if I am doing something proactive about my eating. That’s a good thing, in and of itself.

I’ll check back in tomorrow.  Until then, happy eating!

us-iphone-1-see-how-you-eat-diary-easy-to-track-food-and-meals
1 view0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page