top of page

A Note before Bed in Icy North Texas

I am sitting in the kitchen and noting the silence. The only sound is the warm air coming up through the heating vents. It is almost midnight. We have been out on the icy roads tonight visiting our friends and now we’re home again with Ray asleep on the couch in the green room.

We are pro and conning the plan of driving back to CA together or else Ray staying for another week and me flying home on Wednesday before students on Thursday. I am leaning towards Ray going with me because the whole point of my coming was to help with that very long drive. But, the ice and snow has changed his workdays here and he may feel as if he needs to get more accomplished before he heads back. We agreed to talk about it again in the morning when we’re both rested. Decisions made when tired are rarely the best decisions – a basic truth in life.

I just realized it is 2 weeks until Christmas. I believe given the recent busyness of our family with Thanksgiving and the wedding, we can consider a low-key Christmas this year. I think it’s fair to say we’re all a bit tuckered out with big (or any) event planning at the moment. I certainly am. Last year we had a simple Christmas and it was the best I’ve had in a very long time. I look forward to repeating that tradition this year.

Off I head to bed. It’s cozy under the covers when it’s cold. I am looking forward to settling down to sleep on this cold winter’s night.


icy North Texas
0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page