top of page

A Proud Writing “Mama”

Today, I have two newsworthy events to report.

First, my sweet student, Talulah Brown, has gotten word that she has been accepted at her first choice college: Sarah Lawrence in Bronxville, NY. This is a highly competitive school and I am delighted for her. She had already been accepted to her other top choice school, Bennington, so she is batting a thousand. Hurray! On top of that, today is Talulah’s 18th birthday so she received a very special birthday gift with that acceptance from Sarah Lawrence. Congratulations on all counts, Talulah.

Second, I am very pleased that my adult student, Patricia Dunn-Fierstein, has completed her first novel as of today. This was after several rigorous rewrites of the last couple of chapters and also revisions throughout the rest of the book. The novel is excellent, I might add, and has a highly satisfying ending – the result of those multiple rewrites. I had a good cry while reading the last chapter today. The story feels fully realized and the characters well-developed. I feel much like a midwife who has helped deliver a beautiful healthy baby. I am delighted. This was my first novel to coach from start to finish so it’s also a first for me. I have edited several novels before this one, but have not been the primary coach. So, I am feeling especially happy tonight. This was a baby I had the chance to help nurture from the get-go.

There is something so satisfying about working with students on projects that are very important to them. I get to take part in the process to help bring their dreams to fruition and it is wonderful to be part of these life-changing events. I am feeling grateful for the opportunity to share these special times with my students, who become friends in the process.

Hallelujah for those happy moments in life when dreams become a reality. Talulah now has the rare chance to choose between two top colleges in the United States, and Patricia gets to know that she has completed one of those daunting tasks in life that many people only dream of accomplishing – a living breathing novel that carries a heft of meaning that can enrich readers’ lives.

Congratulations to you both.  I am so pleased.


dreams coming true
0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page