top of page

A Reason to Feel Pleased

I am sitting in the kitchen of our Texas home on our last night here. Tomorrow, mid-afternoon, we head back to CA via car. We will arrive in time (God willing) for a full roster of my students on Thursday.

The kitchen is quiet. Rachael came earlier and picked up the dogs to take to her house in McKinney. She will keep them for the 2 to 3 weeks before we return. Ray has already retired for the night. I am wide awake thanks to the iced tea at dinner I knew I shouldn’t drink but did anyway.

Tomorrow we have a zillion things to do before we get out of town. We really need another week here to finish up the Dimmit house so it can go on the market. Alas, we don’t have the luxury of that time so we will leave detailed lists in the hands of the very capable Darrah Dunn and Chris Robinson, who will continue to do what they do when we’re not here-attend to all the necessary details. It is frustrating, however, because we are so close to completion, but are not quite there. I know these things will get done. I just wish I could stay so I could help with that process.

I am happy with the progress we’ve made, however. The house is beautiful and will be a joy to live in for anyone who is looking for a restored 1915 Dutch Colonial. The details of this house – coffered ceilings, three sets of beveled glass doors in the living room, a gorgeous staircase, and a huge cook’s kitchen with two sinks and cabinets galore, make the restoration of this home a real pleasure. There is something indescribably satisfying about taking a house in near tear-down condition and bringing it back to its glory. It is not unlike finding an abandoned child in rags wandering through the streets, alone and afraid, and after much loving care seeing that child emerge whole and full of love and trust. (Yes, that might be hyperbole, but, trust me, it is something along those same lines.)

So, we will leave tomorrow knowing that our baby is almost ready to go out into the world. And just like with a child, it has truly taken a village to make this process happen. Ray, of course, is the cornerstone of this operation with his vision, design ability, and logistical mastery. Darrah and Chris bring their considerable expertise to the picture. I toss in a few ideas of my own. Together, we have brought about a miraculous rebirth to this lovely old home.

Indeed, we all have good reason to feel proud.


1797564_10201642037315123_2108077939718749536_n
0 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page