top of page

A Simple Smile – A Memory

When I was nineteen, I transferred from the University of Texas to the University of Utah. My sister was getting a divorce and asked if I would come out and be there in Salt Lake City with her and her kids. I was happy to do that. The idea of being out-of-state for the first time in my life appealed to me.

I lived in the dorms on campus that first summer and everyday on the way to the cafeteria, I passed a fellow who was about my same age. We smiled at each other and said, “Good morning,” and it developed into one of those silly, sort-of private jokes we shared after only a few days. A greeting and a smile, day after day.

I saw that same fellow over the next 3 years, occasionally in the student union or en route to class and we always repeated our smiles and our salutations. It was as if we were old friends though we had never said more than 2 words to each other. Just before I graduated, I saw my “friend” at the University pool. Unlike the other times, he walked up to me and said, “Could we talk for just a minute?”

“Sure,” I said. “Maybe a real conversation is in order.”

My friend looked serious and said, “I need for you to know something about me.”

“Okay.”

“That summer we were both in the dorms was a really terrible time for me. My dad had just died and I was so depressed I even considered suicide.”

“Oh, dear…”

“Knowing that you were going to give me that big smile of yours is the one thing I held onto that whole summer…your smile saved my life.”

I didn’t know what to say…

He touched my arm.  “Never underestimate the power of a smile. Sometimes that’s all a person needs until life turns a corner.”

We hugged and said good-bye.

Over these past forty years, I’ve made a point to smile at people when I walk down the street.

After all, I never know when someone might be waiting for life to turn that corner.


FML-AP6Y6P.jpg
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page