top of page

A Small Shaker Tonight

Small earthquake tonight. We were at Liz’s new apartment when we felt the floor moving and saw knickknacks wobbling.

“What do we do?” I asked.

Luckily by that time, the quake was over and no damage had been done.

“For future reference, Mom,” Liz said, “go get next to a big piece of furniture and kneel down. If something falls, it will fall on the furniture and not you.

“What about standing in the doorway of a room?” I asked.

“That’s what they used to say, but now they say kneel beside big pieces of furniture,” Liz said.

We moved here a few months after the Northridge quake 20 years ago. I thought everyone routinely rode around with extra food, clothing and supplies in their car trunks based on what I saw in those first months we lived here.

Now, almost everyone I know (including myself) is fairly blasé about quakes. That is until we get the “Big One.”

I know I need to be more well-informed about earthquakes. It is only a matter of time, after all…

Apparently, at Brea the quake was a 5.1. That was significantly larger than the one we felt.

At least now I know to find that piece of furniture and crouch down.

Hope everyone’s safe.


earthquake-safety-tips-1
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page