top of page

A Story Beginning about the Sherman Riot of 1930

I have been working with a student on the phone for four hours, helping him with two essays for history at UCLA. It is now midnight. I can’t say that I will write for 20 minutes today. Instead, I will simply say that I have been writing all evening and I am pretty much pooped.

I did begin a story earlier tonight with the idea that I might write it for my blog tonight. I was interrupted early on so I stopped. I like the beginning, however, so I will share it here.

She was his family’s housekeeper before the riot and the burning. She was also the mother of his beautiful forbidden girlfriend, Sadie, who was slim and the color of the coal that heated his father’s house. All of that changed that night back in 1930 when some of the hotheads in town decided to take the law in their own hands.

This is inspired by the riot that took place here in Sherman in May of 1930 when a black man allegedly raped a white woman. Dupont Lyon – the owner of Lyon House (our Texas home) was put in charge of martial law for the town. I am in the rare position of actually sitting in a room where Dupont surely stood on that very day back in 1930.

I would like to tell that story…

But now, I’m going to bed.

Until tomorrow.

courthouse_fire
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page