top of page

A Time to Slow Down for Us All

I think my body is in holiday mode. All I want to do is cook or rest or eat. No desire to run out and clean more in the garage, which is on the to-do list. No, instead, I am inclined to stare at television, head off to the kitchen to whip up a honey-sweetened treat, or to sleep. I said to Ray, “I don’t know why I am so tired.” His response, “Because you know that you can be tired this holiday week-end. Your body is telling you that it needs the rest.”

I am delighted to comply. Today we had breakfast with some old friends, then went to the grocery store. After returning home and putting away the food, I made homemade biscuits, sautéed kale and onions, steamed broccoli, roasted chicken, and homemade blueberry cream pie. Then we had a friend come over for a late afternoon meal before we all settled down to watch the HBO movie, Liberace, with Michael Douglas and Matt Damon. May I just say those two nailed their performances. I was thoroughly entertained.

Now it’s not very late, but I am ready to write for my 20 minutes a day and then head to bed. I can hardly stay awake though we haven’t even hit 10 pm yet. There is just something about a holiday weekend to let a more relaxed mode enter the picture. I am completely up for another do-very-little day tomorrow. That way on Tuesday, I can go back to work with gusto.

I hope you had a relaxing day today and are planning on having yet another tomorrow. In honor of our veterans, I believe we all need to slow down, let our everyday concerns fade away for a bit, and send up a prayer of thanks. Our country is great because of our fallen heroes. Let’s do their honor justice by suspending our hurry-up and concentrating on being right in the moment. We all benefit from that change of pace.  We all need that shift particularly now since the past months have been so full of difficult national events that have taken their toll on us all.

Happy Memorial Day to you all.

free-happy-memorial-day-clip-art-3
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page