top of page

After a Long Week…

I am dead tired. Perhaps it’s 7 days of jury duty so far or getting up at 5:30 am to go cook for 200 people at the St. Thomas homeless breakfast or maybe it’s the relief of having all three of our family’s babies born safe and sound in these past few weeks. Whatever it is, I am, as we say in Texas, wore slap out.

Tonight I am looking forward to sitting with my feet up and watching television. I don’t have any particular television plans except whatever can produce that mindless stare that suggests an alpha state. Yes, I have people I need to contact and tasks that have gone undone and a house that needs some serious reorganization, not to mention a novel that I should work on plus two short stories that I’m excited about, but noooooooo. It is 6:11 pm and I’ve already eaten dinner, fed the dogs, had a bath and am sitting here in broad daylight in my pj’s. I can hear the television in the other room and again, I don’t really care what I watch though I do draw the line at a few things: really bad reality tv, any game show besides Jeopardy, and anything that is trying to sell me something. Besides that, I am open.

I don’t plan to answer the door, the phone, a text (unless it’s my kids), or an email. No, tonight I am going to go into serious slack-jaw mode and accept that my body needs some R and R.

Hope you all have a lovely Saturday evening. You’ll know where I am and what I am (and am not) doing.

Talk soon, my friends.

exhausted-woman
1 view0 comments

댓글


bottom of page