top of page

All Souls’ Day

Today was All Souls’ Day. I served in church at the 7:30 pm Mass and listened as the names of people who have died and been recorded in our parish’s Chantery Book were read out for the months of January through April. We were having three Masses so each time four months worth of names were read out. I heard my mother’s name, my father’s name, the son of one of my closest friend’s name, in addition to a handful of people I’ve known over the years at St. Thomas the Apostle. It is good to remember those who have gone before us in this life. Such a strange thing, death; something we all know we’ll face, but most of us have no idea where, when, or how. The why is answered in the basic truth: We all die. Other than that bit of information, the particulars remain a mystery until death becomes imminent.

May the souls of the departed rest in peace.


Weeping-Angel
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page