top of page

An Empty-Nester on the Move

Tonight I am too tired to write much. The truth is I hand wrote an essay for my blog, but am too tired to transcribe. Students and preparation for my online class, plus a major room switch prompted by our youngest child moving out are the blame. I am happy with the room switch, however, and I am going through my papers and my books and my closet as I move everything to the Master bedroom that my husband and I gave to our kids to share as they were growing up. But now they are grown and we are alone and we wandered into the room the other day and looked at each other. “This room is big,” my husband said, and I nodded. “How about we move into it finally?” I nodded again. And we’ve been moving and moving and moving for the past two days. Lots of stuff to shift when you’ve got lots of stuff to go through. But we’re doing it and my books are going to be all organized and my clothes not so crowded and my office is going to be all brand new since we are switching our office spots. It’s a mess, but a good one. A hopeful and happy one. We had to laugh. We are the empty-nesters doing what stereotypic empty-nester do: commandeering their child’s recently vacated room. Oh well, now I see how that happens. With that, I am going to bed. Happy, however, and excited to have a brand new place to sleep after all these years.

1 view0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page