top of page

An Update on the Missing Girl

I have been emailing all day with Charlotte Watson and her group of very active folks and we have a plan of action to present to Elda’s family, which includes contacting the Missing and Exploited Children Hotline as well as Homeland Security and ICE, which is part of that organization. ICE has agents in Guatemala City, but the first contact has to be in the U.S. Also, one of Charlotte’s friends has already forwarded my letter to the FBI – LA office. I have a call into Elda’s family to talk to her 15-year-old daughter, Melissa, who is fluent in English. I am waiting to hear back from her.

I have heard from Melissa.

She said that they have already contacted the Missing and Exploited Children’s Hotline, as well as the FBI. The FBI told them that since Michelle was illegal, they couldn’t do anything. I told Melissa that one of the women who is now helping had reached out to the FBI again today and I would find out if they should call back.

The missing girl’s mother is going to call Homeland Security now. I hope they get someone at Homeland Security that will listen. Another of the women has a friend at ICE who is looking for the right person for Elda’s family to contact here in LA. I gave them the general Homeland Security number to report a crime, which is 1 866-347-2423. I told Melissa to keep me informed since we now have professionals in human trafficking who are doing their best to help.

For tonight there doesn’t seem to be much else to do.

Elda’s family was so appreciative that I called tonight with this information. Melissa said that nothing had changed with the situation, but they are all very happy to hear that there are people out there who are working to help.

I was deeply touched by the rallying that occurred with Charlotte and her buddies.

Thank you so much, Charlotte. You are definitely the one I want on my team if there’s a fight!

We can only hope that someone at one of the federal agencies will actually listen and do something to help Michelle and this family.


AboutUs_NCMEC
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page