top of page

Anticipating Baby Luna

I am lying in bed with two dogs and a husband. Is that a bad sign? Everyone is sound a sleep except for me. I am feeling wide awake at the moment.

Today we drove out to Arcadia and saw Sarah and Gregorio. Sarah is getting rounder by the day, looking distinctly more and more like the quintessential pregnant woman. She and Gregorio are eagerly awaiting the arrival of their little girl, Luna, and their apartment is filling up with gifts from family and friends, such as clothes, strollers, swings, etc. Gregorio’s brother has a son, Omar, who is eighteen months old. As a result, Sarah and Gregorio are the happy recipients of many of Omar’s goodies that are barely used, but now outgrown. Babies seem to need a disproportionate number of supplies relative to their small size. One half of one room in Sarah’s apartment is filled with anticipated necessities. As Ray said, “I can already see what your garage sale is going to look like in about two years.”

I recall that despite the multitude of toys and clothes our children received, there were very few items that were used with any regularity. Primary equipment seemed to consist of a few good blankets, booties, a few onesies, lots of diapers, and a good rocking chair. A good stroller was also very helpful, plus a decent sized diaper bag. A car seat, of course, was needed and one of our three kids loved her swing. Besides that, well, everything else seemed to end up in a closet until it hit the garage sale tables.

As time is drawing closer to that April 5th due date, we are all getting more and more excited. This is the first new member of our immediate family – the Beaty family – in 22 years. Needless to say, we can’t wait to meet this new child. Gregorio’s side of the family is even more excited. This is the first girl in their immediate family in many years. Little Luna Isabella can expect much love.

I’m sure my mother awaited my children’s births with this same anticipation. I know Ray’s parents did – they bought a baby bed for their house even before Sarah was born. I guess that is the domain of grandparents. They get all the fun of the wait without any of the discomfort. So far, I’m enjoying this new phase!

So, in exactly two months from tomorrow, little Luna is due. She may be coming sooner from what the doctor is suggesting. Of course, Sarah was two weeks late. So, we may be further off than we are imagining.

Either way, our family and Gregorio’s are gearing up for our new addition. A miracle is in the making and we are simply waiting for the unveiling.

I look forward to that first sight of my grand-daughter, and then many more sights of her over her lifetime.

It occurred to me that if I want to be at her wedding, then I need to take better care of myself. I will be 80 when she is 20. So, I might be closer to 90 for that wedding. I better start that exercise program I keep putting off.

On that note, I must go to sleep. As an expectant grandmother, I suppose I need my rest as well. ..

Baby-Equipment
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page