top of page

Art of the Personal Essay

I visited the Beverly Hills library yesterday and found this book by Phillip Lopate, who is considered one of the top American essayist of our time. This is an anthology of wonderful essays spanning from ancient times to the present with writers as varied as Seneca to Joan Didion.

I love the form of the personal essay and am looking forward to reading many of these. Also, there is an introduction from Phillip Lopate that covers lots of issues concerning personal essays, such as “egotism” and “cheek and irony.”

I am chomping at the bit to read this book. I am hopeful that my own essays will improve with exposure to many of the greats. As they say, it can’t hurt!

Happy Thursday, folks.

We’ll talk again on Friday.


lopate
0 views0 comments

Σχόλια


bottom of page