top of page

Attention Older Readers: I Need Your Advice

Okay, so it’s happened: I looked up and realized my kids have grown up. Yes, okay, so Sarah IS 29, Liz 26 and Rachael 20, but you don’t understand, I’ve been a Mother with a capital M for the past almost 30 years. And Ray has been a Father with the same focused interest.

Alas, last night we looked at each other and said, “Sure is quiet around here.”

Yes, it is.

Don’t get me wrong. I am thrilled my children are up and out and doing well. I couldn’t be happier. And grandchildren are not in the picture for now. They will be, I know, at some point, but not for a while.

So…this is where you, my older friends, come in. What have you done to not look at the next 30 years of your life and go, “Oh, boy…”

I am completely serious. I truly do want to know. A second career? Hobbies? Volunteer work? Basket weaving? I mean really….what is a healthy way to approach my 60’s and the years that will hopefully come after? I happen to know many of you are happy, healthy and living vital lives, so what are the secrets? Obviously, sitting and staring at television for long periods of time is not one of them…unless you’re tired from doing other things.

Keep in mind, I am not retired. Will not be retiring soon unless that money from the lottery shows up and, oops, I’ll need to start buying tickets for that to happen. But my work is settled. That seems to be the problem. Everything is settled. Has been in a routine that has run on high gear for a long time. I like high gear. Okay, maybe not HIGH gear, but I like to strike a pace. So, please don’t tell me it’s time to settle in and wait to die. Not that any of you will because none of you have.

So, with that, I will await your wisdom. Please do respond. I am dead serious. Guidance is needed. The crickets are chirping around here and while I normally like that sound, not when it’s so loud I can’t quite hear the television.

With that, I’m sitting here waiting. So, please tell me something!

Thanks in advance.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page