top of page

Back Home

I got up early this morning and headed back to LA from Ojai because I was scheduled to serve as subdeacon at our 10:30 Mass.  (Ray left last night to attend a fund-raiser for our Diocese.)  After church, we met our friend David for lunch, a movie, then a post-movie snack.  We had a lot of catching up to do since we haven’t seen each other in a while.

This evening I had a long-distance phone student who is studying on the East Coast. We continued our dissection of Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert, which is a book that is fascinating in its character study of Emma Bovary, a woman in search of love at all costs.  This is a highly readable book which deals with issues that are as modern day as they were when it was written back in 1856. If you are looking for something that explores the frustrations of a woman married to a man who she views as boring, dull and “a boobie,” then this is the book for you.  Emma Bovary is in love with being in love and these feelings have very little to do with her husband. It is a tough story so don’t pick this up for a fun-in-the-sun quick read.  Still, it is a real page-turner and I’m not kidding.

Daylight Saving Time ended today.  Ugh.  It was twilight at five pm today.  I prefer longer days and shorter nights.  Alas…this is not how our state works at present so it’s time to adjust to “winter” now. I suppose there’s something to be said for settling in for a long cozy evening.  I will adjust.

I hope your day went well.

I’ll be checking back in again tomorrow.

madame-bovary

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page