top of page

Back in CA with a Short Stop to See Baby Luna and Sarah

Ray and I have arrived home in CA from Texas after what turned out to be a very long driving day yesterday (and a shorter one today). The reason for the long day yesterday was a multitude of delays due to ice and snow and subsequent accidents along Interstate 20 and 10 in West Texas. We literally sat or inched along for 2 hours yesterday afternoon, wondering just how long we might be stuck out in the middle of nowhere with a growing line of cars and trucks backed up for miles and miles and miles. We saw one 18 wheeler overturned, another one that had jack-knifed and a third that had slid off the road and gotten stuck in the median. We didn’t get to our motel until midnight and were up and out by 5:30 this morning. Some of that hurry was based on a desire to see Sarah and Luna as we drove through Pasadena as we rushed home so I could  see students this afternoon.

We did see Sarah and Luna and, of course, this was the bright spot of the day. Luna has added “Mama” to her vocabulary, right behind “Pa” for daddy and “Ba” for doggies. She also can say “up” and “hi,” though not completely predictably. She can also stand by herself, take a few steps and also wave. I am telling you that girl is a genius. Ten months old and practically reading. She does love books, but I suspect it’s more because she can suck on the edges of the pages…though I do not want to sell her efforts short.

Sarah is fine. She is waiting to hear where she might have matched for residency programs. She will know this by the end of February, I believe. This is a big deal because where she matches determines where she and Gregorio will live for the next 3 to 4 years. Some of the choices are close; others not so close, though all are in Southern CA.   So, the “match-up” matters. We will see…

I am dead tired and am headed for bed. I slept some early this morning, but not much since then. I suspect I will be fast asleep literally in a matter of minutes once upstairs.

On that note, let me just say that I am grateful to have made it once again, safe and sound, to CA from Texas. I do not take that safety for granted.  I always wipe my brow with relief when we pull into the driveway here or there.

Good night to all. I hope you sleep as well as I hope to!


1656435_10202630943232294_294337366_n
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page