top of page

Back in LA

We arrived at midnight and now it’s 1:45.  We have been visiting with daughter Liz and her boyfriend, Ron, who stayed up late to greet us, which was very sweet of them.

Now I am in bed after a warm bath.  We are due to get up at 5:45 to go help cook breakfast for the homeless.  Our original plan was to get home on Thursday, but we just kept finding one more detail to attend to in Texas.  Alas, we are going to be tired tomorrow!

We listened to a lot of talk radio on the trip and now I am more informed about health issues, the new appointee for Treasury Secretary, the Oscar slights, exercise apps, and several authors and their new books.  Plus, I listened to the first half of Amy Tan’s nonfiction book, which includes personal essays and short memoir pieces. 

The key bit of information on health that I found interesting is that your waistline should not be more than half of your height.  Since I am 59 inches tall, then my waist measurement should not exceed 29.5 inches.  I plan to get my tape measure out tomorrow and see were I am on that.  Also, there is an app for your phone called “Couch to 5K” which is supposed to be very motivating.  Something else to check out. Amy Tan’s writing is wonderful. Clear and descriptive.  She is very open, unpretentious, and real.  I will look forward to listening to more. The dogs are settled and Ray is snoring beside me.  That coffee I drank to help me drive the last leg of the trip has me wide awake.  But now I will close and see if I can sleep.  The alarm will be ringing soon. I am grateful we have arrived safely.  A gift.
0 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page