top of page

Back in LA and Feeling a Bit Nostalgic

We are back in LA after our trip to Ensenada, Mexico. I felt sad when I had to say good-bye to the grandkids, Sarah and Gregorio. It’s fun waking up every morning and seeing them first thing. Still, I am happy to be home and I know they are happy to be at their home. Hopefully, we’ll have lots of fun trips like this in our future.

Right now, I am sitting in my den, three fans are blasting and I have three windows open.  Our house with its stucco walls is cool most of the time, but once the heat gets in, it is a bit tough to cool down. Ray is upstairs in our bedroom with the air conditioner cranked up and a fan blowing. It will take another hour before it’s really comfortable up there.

I am feeling a bit nostalgic tonight and decided to listen to one of my all-time favorite albums, Joni Mitchell’s Blue. I know almost every song by heart and I sang many of these songs every night to my little girls when they were growing up. I threw in Leonard Cohen songs and a few by Judy Collins too, but these Joni Mitchell songs were a key part of my musical repertoire. I am listening to them again tonight because they bring me a profound sense of comfort. I am also always in awe of Joni Mitchell’s songwriting talent. She is simply one of the best and her songs stand the test of time.

I hope you’re having a lovely evening and are feeling happy and safe.  Here’s a little Joni to bring back a few memories to those of you who are old enough to remember these songs when you young. And for those of you who are too young to know these, just listen to the lyrics. They are deeply-felt stories that are satisfying all on their own.

I’ll be checking back in with you all again tomorrow.

All I Want:


Little Green:


A Case of You:


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page