top of page

Back to Wearing a Step Counter for Better Health

One of the best ways that I’ve found to remind myself to get up and start moving is to wear a step counter. This little device attached to my waistband can serve as a great motivator to get up and outside or even simply move more around the house. The simplest measure the number of steps you take over the course of a day. The fancy ones also count calories for you and even give you the number of Weight Watcher points you’ve earned from your exercise.

The American Heart Association recommends that we all walk at least 10,000 steps a day. That can not be accomplished by walking just around the house unless you have a mighty big place. Otherwise, in order to reach the AHA’s recommended goal, you’re going to have to take a trek around the block a couple of times a day.

There is something very helpful about getting immediate and constant feedback about the number of steps I am walking in a day. Just looking down and reading the read-out helps me to either feel good because I am already close to my goal for the day or else motivated to get going because I have a ways to go before completion. Either way, I have a measurable goal in mind and this helps me to stay on track.

So, if you are having any trouble hoisting yourself off of the couch, then I recommend a step counter. The cheapest are only a couple of bucks; the most expensive can range all the way up to $200.  A variety can be found at your local drug or grocery store, Wal-mart, Target or Best Buy. My sister, who was an avid walker, recommended getting the cheapest counter. Her logic was they have the least chance of having a problem. I tend to agree.

What a relief. Every step in my day counts and that makes me happy. It also helps me to realize that making the bed, tidying the house, and cooking in the kitchen can all contribute to overall good health. It’s just sitting and not moving that seems to be the problem.

Have you used a step counter?  Let me know how that worked out for you by writing in the Comments Section.  What keeps you motivated to get moving?  I’d love to hear.

Happy walking and counting.

0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page