top of page

Beach: Then and Now

The first time I sat on the beach at an ocean was when I was sixteen-years-old and I had come to Sierra Madre, CA from Texas to visit my sister, Leslie. She took me to Manhattan Beach, which was beautiful except for the offshore oil derricks. I had a brand new white bikini that I was wearing and I was very proud of this new piece of apparel. Unfortunately, when I sat down I managed to sit right on a big piece of tar, which not only made it look like I’d had an “accident” in my bikini bottom, but also permanently ruined my new swimsuit. Alas, I have never returned to Manhattan Beach. Ruining a brand-new swimsuit less than five minutes into my first day on a Pacific beach somehow soured me on that place…

If I were sitting alone on a beach now, I would:

1) Cover my feet with warm sand 2) Walk down the water’s edge and get my feet wet 3) Spread out my towel and lie down so I could feel the warmth of the sand 4) Watch the sea gulls as they walked on the beach and soared in the sky 5) Close my eyes and listen as the waves rolled onto the shore 6) Breathe deeply so I could smell the salty air 7) Feel the warm sun on my body 8) Slather sunscreen on my body 9) Enjoy the sun glinting on the waves 10) Make a sand castle


IMG_0434
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page