top of page

Birthday Celebrations x 2

This was a big family day.  Ron’s birthday is Tuesday and Rachael’s is Wednesday so we had a lot of celebrating to do.  I made Rachael’s requested pumpkin lasagna and baked both a peach pie and a banana cream pie.  Liz made a salad, Sarah supplied lentil soup, chicken, baked vegetables and bread.

We exchanged a few gifts; however, since the birthdays are still a few days off, not all were presented today.  We mainly just hung out together and talked, laughed, played with the kids and ate. Later in the day, I got some special Nico and Luna time with just Grandma.  I went outside with them and played.  I also supervised bathtime and then read Luna a book. Needless to say, that was all lovely.

I told Luna that Grandpa and I would soon be heading to Texas for a week, but I hoped when we returned that she and Nico would come spend the night.  She said, “Grandma, I want you to say that you wish that I could come with you to Texas.”  I had to laugh. “Are you kidding?” I said.  “I would love it if you could come with us to Texas.  I am hoping that it won’t be too long before you can do just that.”  She was happy with those words.  I must admit I was impressed with her ability to let me know what she wanted/needed to hear.  Wow. That is a skill that will propel her life forward in the best possible way.

I am a very lucky woman to have my children, sons-in-law and grandchildren nearby.  I am aware of that, particularly since I know many people who don’t enjoy this luxury. Just being together is good enough for me.  Luckily, I actually really like my kids and their partners.  That is a big plus.  Again, I know many who have strained relationships all around and I hope and pray we never find ourselves in that situation.

As for today, I was very happy to be around my chickens.  Life is always better for me if I get time with these special folks.  I feel very fortunate indeed and pray for love, hope reconciliation and connection for all people who are suffering from disconnection and estrangement.

I’ll be checking back in again tomorrow.  Have a good night.

birthdaysclipart

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page