top of page

Bright and Early Saturday Morning

I am sitting with Cameron. What an impressive girl. She is here on her first morning of spring break. Thanks, Cameron, for wanting to come work on your writing before heading off on your college tour on the East Coast. This bodes well for your future, my little passionate fiction writer.


SAMSUNG

Ray and I have just returned from volunteering at the “Breakfast Club” at St. Thomas the Apostle, Hollywood. We were joined with about twelve other volunteers to make and serve a hot breakfast for the homeless who live in Hollywood, West Hollywood and any other place that they might be spending time. I made homemade bread pudding from scratch – a recipe that a chef showed me who came a few times to help us be creative with the food we receive from the Food Bank – and I must say that bread pudding was quite tasty. (Yes, I did sneak one bite just for a taste test even though it does have refined sugar from the not pure maple syrup we use.)

Today, the ingredients were French toast that had been sent in individual packages from a school program, blueberry muffins (also individually packaged), fresh bananas, milk, eggs, cinnamon, vanilla, salt, and maple syrup. The French toast and muffins were broken up into small pieces then all the other ingredients were thrown in and mixed together. The result, with more maple syrup mixed in after baking, was a deliciously hardy bread pudding that goes well with the eggs, roasted potatoes covered in cheese, and corn beef hash with fresh green onions that we were also serving.

Yes, we do our best to feed our homeless brothers and sisters a meal that we’d all be happy to eat (minus the corn beef hash for me).


862673_10200726434831326_1916585415_n

Cameron is now ready to read what she’s been working on so I’ll close. I am happy to be home after a busy morning from 6 – 9:30. I am finished with students at 2 and then can put my feet up and relax.

Happy Saturday, folks.

0 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page