top of page

Chicago Yesterday and Today

We spent all day yesterday finishing up work that we had brought with us.  This was okay. We holed up in our friend Shireen’s apartment and enjoyed the quiet while Ray worked in one room and I worked in another. We were finished in time to visit with Shireen when she returned from work in the late afternoon and we had an excellent supper together and lively conversation.

Today, Ray and I headed downtown to the Art Institute where we spent most of the day.  We saw a wonderful architecture exhibition. Here is the link: http://www.artic.edu/exhibition/past-forward-architecture-and-design-art-institute and a new photo exhibition as well.  Here is the link to the photo exhibit: http://www.artic.edu/exhibition/photographers-curator-hugh-edwards-art-institute-chicago

We also ate lunch mid-afternoon and spent just a little time drinking coffee in the members’ lounge before heading back on the L.

This evening, I had four hours of students on the phone, plus another hour and a half working on reading responses to my students in my online class.  This work was unavoidable since I decided to leave at a time when there was so much going on work-wise at home. Students have deadlines and those deadlines dictate my need to help with the process. The good news is that I only have one more 2-hour phone conversation tomorrow night and then critiques for my online class over the weekend.  I can make that happen and not feel too pressed.

Tomorrow, we are heading to Plano, Illinois to see the Farnsworth House designed by Mies van der Rohe.  Here is a link to that house. It is mid-century and supposed to be fabulous. Clearly, I’ll know more about it after our visit tomorrow.  Here is the link for more information: https://farnsworthhouse.org/

I love these art vacations. They feed my soul.

Will check back in again tomorrow evening.

The Art Institute of Chicago

IMG_0581

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page