top of page

Chigger Relief, Jet Lag, Traffic and a Birthday

Thanks to everyone for the chigger help. I found Gold Bond Medicated Ointment in my medicine chest when I got home and it seems to be doing the trick at this point. Though I definitely will be investigating some of these other recommended treatments. More than anything now, I’m just TIRED.

We got up this morning in Corpus Christi, Texas at 5:30 and were on the road to San Antonio by 6. It is now 10:26 in LA, which is 12:26 Texas time. I have good old-fashioned jet lag, plus just a bit of overwhelm considering we flew into San Antonio last Monday, drove 5 hours to Sherman, then I drove back to Austin, then down to Corpus Christi, then back up to San Antonio all in a few days. Lots of miles over not too much time. That’s not counting the 1500 miles to and from CA. So, I guess it’s natural to be tired.

Today, I noted something all these cities have in common – except Sherman, of course, which is a town, not a city. That commonality is cars – lots of them – and often bumper to bumper. I drove through Dallas twice going and coming back and there are plenty of automobiles there on those freeways, then Austin with a fast bunch of cars on that highway going back and forth to Dallas, and San Antonio, with its crowded rush hour, and then there’s Corpus Christi, which is not as town-like as Sherman, but smaller in comparison to the cities I’ve mentioned. Still, Corpus Christi has its own traffic problems, which is simply too many cars on too few streets. We returned to LA, which is notorious for traffic, and if the truth be told, it didn’t stand out among the cities I visited in Texas. Yes, there’s lots of traffic here, but yes, there’s lots of traffic in lots of places these days. Except for Sherman, where it truly does still take about 7 minutes to cross town.

Alas, what gazillionaires we’d be if we could come up with a way to solve these gas and traffic problems. It is clear we need fewer vehicles on the roads. Who volunteers to stay home? I hope I get to for at least a few short days.

I am going to haul my weary bones to bed. I had students today, plus a writing group tonight so I think a few hours of sleep couldn’t hurt me. Plus, tomorrow is my baby girl’s 21st birthday so we’ll be having a celebration after my last student tomorrow evening. I need to get up early and start making stuffed shells for dinner and banana cream pie for dessert.

But like I said, now I am headed upstairs. I can’t wait to crawl into my bed for a good long snooze.

Happy sleeping, folks. Talk soon.

1 view0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page