top of page

College Essay Central

This has been a heavy college essay day. I had three students for two hours each and three students (triplets) for an hour and a half meeting with their parents at Mel’s Diner. (They are from Florida and have been visiting colleges in CA). Lots of good discussion and writing going on, I must say. I am impressed with the focus and talent of these young people as they tackle the Common App and UC questions, which are not easy, I can tell you.

Also, this morning I had a funny experience. I had Michael, who is now 25 and a graduate of NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts here from 9 – 11 and then Shaun, 23, who is back after graduating from Boston University in Neuropsychology here from 11 – 12. I have had Michael as a student since 7th grade (he is now my writing buddy) and Shaun since he was in 4th grade (he is now working on his science fiction writing). So, I said to these two grown men as they crossed paths, “Did you guys ever meet here when you were younger?” and they both smiled and said, “Yeah, I think I remember seeing you.” I had to smile. I can remember them vividly as little boys. Who would have ever thought I’d still have the pleasure of working with them now?

On that note, I am saying good night. This gal is ready for a hot bath and a soft bed. Holy cow. A little too much work today, but at least it was satisfying.

I hope you’ve had a good day. I’ll be checking back in with you tomorrow.

2016-2017-Common-App-Essays

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page