top of page

College Essay Crunch Time

I am sitting here at 10 pm having just finished seeing my last students of the night. You can tell it is college essay time. No other time of year would I be working this late. The deadline for all the schools in the University of California system is November 30th, so there is a lot of last minute work going on among students to get their applications and essays ready before the deadline. That means there’s a lot more work for me right now, and while I am grateful, I am also a little tired.

The essays that come out of this process are often really wonderful. My goal is for these kids to write something that they can read at age 60 and still enjoy; something that clearly conveys the thoughts, feelings, and state of mind of a 17-year-old with his/her whole life ahead of them. I like to imagine these will be essays that my students will cherish. That is what I hope, at least. After all, if they love them, then, hopefully, so will the admission officers at these highly competitive universities.

So, on that note, I am headed upstairs to take a long, hot bath. That sounds like the perfect way to start my slow descent into sleep.

Happy Tuesday to all. I hope you’ve had a good day. We’ll “see” each other again tomorrow.

how_to_write_a_great_essay_quickly_101337
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page