top of page

Congrats to Shireen and My Turkey Meatloaf Recipe

I made this meatloaf today for a luncheon in celebration of our beloved Deacon Shireen Baker who was ordained as an Episcopal priest today. I was on Shireen’s discernment committee 4 or 5 years ago when she began what is a very long process to become a priest in our church. She has since gone to seminary for three years, served as a deacon for several months and is now, as of today, “Mother” Baker. I couldn’t be happier for her or prouder of her. She is a fine example of someone who has been called to the ministry and will serve her current and future parishes with kindness, intelligence and sensitivity. So, best wishes, sweet Shireen.

Back to the meatloaf…

I had several requests for the recipe of this turkey meatloaf after the luncheon today. It is as reliable a dish as you can find, tasty and satisfying every time. One of my daughter’s boyfriends said to me a few years back, “The only thing I want for Christmas is your meatloaf.” That should say it all.

Here is the turkey meatloaf recipe. If you use it, please let me know how it turns out for you.

Turkey Meatloaf

1 1/2 pound lean ground turkey 1 cup milk or chicken broth 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce 2 teaspoon chopped fresh basil or 1/2 teaspoon dried basil 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/4 teaspoon mustard 1/4 teaspoon pepper 1 chopped clove garlic 1 egg 3/4 cup ground cracker crumbs 1 onion, chopped 1/2 cup red pepper 1/4 cup ketchup

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients except ketchup. Spread mixture in greased 8 x 4 or 9 x 5 inch loaf pan. Spread ketchup over.

Bake uncovered 1 – 1 1/4 hours or until thermometer reads at least 160 degrees. Let stand 5 minutes. Remove from pan.

I hope you enjoy it. I think you will.


turkey-loaf-hl-1559148-l
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page