top of page

Congratulations to Daughter Rachael

Tonight is the last night that my daughter, Rachael Beaty, has to study for a final exam as an undergraduate. Tomorrow at noon after one last final, Rachael will officially be finished with her Bachelor of Arts degree from UCLA in American Literature. I am very proud of this youngest daughter of mine who has worked as a food server, a part-time nanny to two families and a babysitter to two more all while pursuing an English degree from a university that sells tee shirts that read: I survived UCLA’s English Department. There is no exaggeration in those words. UCLA has one of the toughest literature departments in the country and in American Literature – Rachael’s specific area of study – four of her professors are the top scholars in the world in their field. Wow.

Rachael will go through official graduation in June with her department, but tomorrow is the last day that she is officially enrolled at UCLA. At a time when many students have to go an extra year to finish, Rachael – good planner and hard worker that she is – is graduating a quarter early. So, how impressive is that? I think she would just shrug and say, “I got lucky with my classes, Mom.”

But do not be deceived by her humility, Rachael’s success is all about brains, hard work and focus. She has an ability to juggle a dozen activities with a calm and sure hand and to smile while she’s doing it. She is more organized than most 35-year-olds I know and more mature. (This has been the case for a long time now.) She also somehow manages to eat right and exercise while she’s keeping up with work and her studies. Dear Lord.

So, congratulations to my beloved Rachael, who tomorrow will reach one of those milestones in life: her Bachelor of Arts degree from one of the top universities in the United States. I am both pleased for her and proud of her. Good work, sweet girl!  What a special person you are – smart, pretty, and loving. I expect you’ll be just fine out there in the big world. In fact, I know you will.

328184_3080042368116_1900404891_o
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page