top of page

Coping with Troubles

The past few days have been filled with an unexpected batch of complications in several areas of my life, ranging from severe health problems for a couple of friends to very bad news about a couple of friends to very bad relations between a couple of friends. Also, there are stressors occurring in two unexpected spots that create challenges I had not foreseen. Again, none of these occurrences are happening directly to me, but rather around me. It is as though there is friction in the air and it is hovering somewhere just to the right of my left shoulder. That’s not to even mention the impact of daily bad news from the national and international front, which I believe we can all agree is tough to take even from a distance.

This all begs the question: How to deal with this?

I decided this morning that I need to listen to more music. Researchers have shown that listening to certain types of music calms the mind and creates a more positive mood.

Also, I thought, “You need to tidy up loose ends.” I have a few of those dangling about and I think some focused tidying would bring some definite peace of mind.

In addition, I resolved to spend time each day offering up prayers for those who are suffering, not just for those who are close, but also for those whom I’ve heard about on the news. This can’t hurt the people who are in pain and it will give purpose and perspective for me.

Finally, I resolved to stop putting off items on my bucket list until some distant “never-never,” but rather to make small inroads to ensure some come to fruition in the not-too-distant future.

I think all of this discord near me has helped me to recognize that beauty, simplicity, empathy and adventure can bring some real quality to life. I already feel better focusing on what is positive and not feeling mired in the negative.

I hope your life has been moving along without any unexpected complications. If troubles arise for you or around you, I recommend a good listen to one of your favorite musicians. It won’t fix anything out in the world, but it will definitely shift your mind and mood to a happier place.

On that note, I’ll say good night.

As usual, I’ll be checking back in with you tomorrow.

Black Woman Wearing Headphones
1 view0 comments

留言


bottom of page