top of page

Day with the Grandkids

We had a lovely visit this afternoon with Sarah and our little grandchildren, Luna and Nico. We spent time at the park and then back at Sarah and Gregorio’s home. This evening Liz and Ron came over and we all had dinner together, which was a treat.

We had lots of time at the park to play. Grandpa and I took turns supervising Luna over a busy couple of hours of swinging, sliding and playing in the sand. Nico managed to sleep the entire time we were there, but after we returned to Sarah’s, I helped Luna with her bath while Sarah fed Nico. Then she brought him into the bath and I washed his hair while Sarah held him.

Bathing time is a ritual that Luna and I have. She knows that I’m happy to sit in the bathroom with her while she plays in the bath for however long she wants to stay. She piles in lots of floatable toys and I sit and watch her while she washes her rubber duckies and has conversations between the various My Little Ponies she has in her hands. It is a joy to watch her imagination so open and fluid.

After bathing time, Sarah, Liz, Ray and Luna walked down to several food trucks that are routinely parked in a shopping center nearby. While they went to buy fish tacos and Thai food for dinner, I had the chance to stay home with little Nico. This was my first time to actually be alone with my little grandson. He and I had the house to ourselves for almost thirty whole minutes.

As a mother of three children, I know how precious just a few “free” minutes can be for a mother with a new baby. Sarah almost skipped out the front door on the way to get the food. I, of course, was thrilled to get a little private time with little Nico. After all, he and I need to get to know each other.

Since Sarah made sure he was full of milk before she headed out, I knew I didn’t need to worry about a hungry baby. I held him for a bit until he got just a little fussy, then I lay him down on a blanket on a nearby hassock. He was happy there for several minutes, looking around the room and kicking his legs. Of course, I used the opportunity to snap at least a dozen pictures of him. I am a doting grandmother, after all.

When lying flat got boring, we walked around the house together, noting all the interesting pictures. That was good for another few minutes before he began to make little sounds of dissatisfaction. At that point, we headed over to his swing, which not only can be set for rhythmic rocking, but also has music. He rocked and listened for at least ten minutes before he began to kick and look as if crying was coming very soon. Up we went again to make a trek around the house. After a few rounds, we heard voices outside and I knew Sarah, et al would be arriving soon. The minute Nico heard his mother’s voice, he lifted his little head in search of her. Shortly after Mama’s arrival, he was eating again.

I treasure this time I get to spend with my grandkids. Being in the park in Pasadena today was so relaxing, so sweet. It was 75 degrees with a blue sky, so it felt almost like early summer. Lots of parents, lots of kids, all doing nothing but hanging out in a park on a beautiful day.

The time with Nico this evening was especially nice. He and I had several long moments when we just stared into each other’s eyes. He held my gaze with such steadfastness, as if he was memorizing my face. I certainly was memorizing his. I can already see that this little boy is going to bring me great joy. He is a sweet little fellow. I look forward to watching him grow.

We had a great time today, and I am so happy I had the chance to spend some relaxed, do-nothing time with these folks. I forget sometimes how pleasant it is to have no other place to be, no other thing to do. That is the gift of grandchildren. They pull you back to that time as a kid when the most important event of the day was to go outside and do nothing but play.

What a great way to spend an afternoon and evening.

I hope you’ve had a good day, dear readers, wherever you might be.  If you’re in LA, then I hope you managed to get outside today.  If not, then make a plan to spend sometime tomorrow outdoors.  You will be happy you did.

I’ll be checking back in with you tomorrow.

Luna

IMG_2440
IMG_2441

Nico

Nico3
Nico2

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page