top of page

Doctors, Pregnancy, and Daughter Sarah

I went with daughter Sarah today to two doctors’ appointments. One was to a cardiologist because Sarah’s heart has been beating a little too fast and there was some concern. The doctor came in – a grandfatherly man – and he assured Sarah (and me) that the tests had shown her heart was as healthy as could be, (thank God for all that long-distanced swimming she did growing up) and that she would be good as new as soon as baby Luna is born. “This is a pregnancy-related condition,” he said. “You are going to be fine.”

Those were exactly the words we wanted to hear. While it was hard to imagine that my healthy girl wouldn’t get that prognosis, it is always a relief to get the nod of approval. Particularly from a man who looks as if he’s seen a lifetime of troubles and knows just how to deal with them. He reassured Sarah that if labor caused her heartbeat to get too fast, he’d come over and give her some medicine to slow it right down. “There’s not a thing in the world to worry about.”

Yes!

Next we headed over to see the obstetrician, a blue-eyed blonde woman in her early 40’s. She measured Sarah’s belly and listened to Luna’s heartbeat and declared all to be well. Sarah asked about birth plans for her labor and they went over a few details. Dr. Bohn (pronounced BONE) came highly recommended and is living up to her fine reputation. “We deliver as many women naturally as we can,” she said. “We want that for you if you don’t want pain meds.” She paused, “But we’ll want to give you an epidural if your labor slows dramatically, of course. That will be in case we need to do a C-section.”

Those are the words that up until now Sarah has been dreading. “No C-sections,” she has said over and over. “I want a natural birth.”

Of course, I understand. I did, after all, have my three babies at home with a midwife. But as I said today to Sarah, “You will be so ready to have that baby out of your body when it’s time that if things aren’t moving along, you’ll probably grab that scalpel yourself.”

My daughter, who has previously seen no humor in any possibility of a C-section, laughed. “I’m starting to feel that way now,” she said, “and I still have 8 weeks to go.”

Nature is very smart related to pregnant women and their babies. I remember distinctly with my own children and have known countless women who will also agree: right around your due date you don’t care what it takes to get that child out of your body. Bring on labor; do the damn C-Section. Just get this little intruder OUT.

I suspect Sarah will be no different.

I see one of the great advantages of being the grandmother. I don’t have to face another labor and delivery. I get the benefits without doing the work. Though, of course, I did my work a while back and now we are here.

So, we had a good day. Luna is growing, kicking and has a healthy heartbeat. Sarah is healthy, too. Now we have to be patient. By early April, this little girl will be ready to let us see her. Until then, Sarah just needs to keep her feet up and her heart beat down. My job, I suppose, is to remind her of that and to cheer her on.  And to give Gregorio a hug or two.  After all, he is expecting a baby girl, too.

d7267_120627065505-pregnant-woman-labor-doctor-hospital-story-top
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page